• Military Affairs


    The Military Affairs Committee promotes a positive working relationship among employers and area military and veterans groups.

  • Military Affairs Banner Program

    Help us salute the brave men and women of the U.S. Armed Forces with the new Military Banner Program.

    The Military Affairs Committee of the Brookings Area Chamber of Commerce is seeking applicants to spotlight individuals who have served and/or are serving in all arms of the US Military. Each banner will showcase one individual's photo, their name, and branch, for nearly three months of the year, over Veteran's day. These banners will only line 6th Street.

    To sponsor a banner, please submit this form along with a high resolution photo to the Brookings Area Chamber of Commerce by July 31,2023. To qualify as a honoree, the individual must meet these requirements:

    • Currently serving, Active Duty, or past Military service
    • Current or former resident of Brookings County
  • Programs and Events

    Veterans Day Program

    The Veterans Day Program is organized by the Brookings Area Chamber of Commerce and is held on November 11 each year. During the program, the Military Affairs Committee awards soldiers and civilians for their involvement in both the military and their community. The recipients are nominated by other soldiers and civilians in the community of Brookings.

    2023 Military Affairs Committee Award Nominations

    Thank you for considering nominating an individual for a Military Affairs Committee Veterans Day award. All awards will be presented in person on Veterans Day (11/11/2023) during the program at Swiftel Event Center at 9:30AM. Neither nominees nor nominating party need to be Chamber members.

    Award Categories:

    • Officer of the Year
    • Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year
    • Soldier of the Year
    • Civilian of the Year

    Nominations can be accessed below. Please submit your nomination to Andrea by November 1st, 2023.

  • 2023 Committee Members


    Russ Chavez – SDSU Veterans Affairs Director

    Vice Chairperson

    Robert Hurd- American Legion & Vet. Memorial       


    Andy Ellis - SDSU Armed Forces Assoc.

    Roger Hansen –VFW 

    Loren Hanson – VFW Commander – Rolling Thunder

    Robert Hill –DAV

    Courtney Steffen-Veterans Service Officer

    Erin Tedesco- Air Force ROTC

    Connie Johnson- SDSU Veterans Affairs

    Jason Kettwig – SDSU Army ROTC

    Charles Burge – SDSU Army ROTC

    Darwin Tolzin-VFW

    Leo Stirling-Rolling Thunder/VFW

    David Zoelle-VFW

    Scott Kwasniewski- SD Dept. of Labor

    Bill Flippo – SD National Guard

    Russell D. Mileham – American Legion

    Lois Ladegaard- Auxiliary VFW


    Staff Liasion

    Andrea Fox-Mosher



    Chamber Board Rep.



    Meeting Location Sponsor

    Lisa Steenson- Ray's Corner