Key Takeaways from the May 2, 2025

Economic Development Merger Committee meeting

Board of Directors Selection Committee Formed

The Board of Directors for the newly-merged organization will be appointed by a seven-member selection committee comprised of three members of the merger committee and one representative recommended by each of the existing organizations.

The selection committee includes:

- Nathan Condelli (Downtown Brookings)
- Tom Fishback (Merger Committee)
- Andi Fouberg (Merger Committee)
- Marcus Heemstra (Merger Committee)
- Jared Knudson (Brookings Economic Development Corporation)
- Kate Treiber (Visit Brookings)
- Samantha Tupper (Brookings Area Chamber of Commerce)

The committee will begin accepting applications in May with the goal of appointing board members by June 16, 2025.

Board Engagement and Decision-Making

As the merger effort matures, the committee will begin working with the existing boards to affirm their decision regarding participation in the merged organization.

The Brookings City Council will consider approval of the implementation plan on May 13, 2025 and the new board of directors will likely be in place by June 16, 2025.

Merger committee members plan to meet with the existing boards in executive session in conjunction with their May meetings. The existing boards will be asked to make a decision on merging by June 30, 2025.

Job Responsibilities Working Group Identified

Now that the committee has further developed the organizational structure to include potential staff positions, a working group has been identified to begin connecting existing job responsibilities and functions to the needs of future positions. The working group includes Angie Boersma, Jamison Lamp, Laci Thompson, and Michael Schulte. The working group will be in contact with staff in the coming weeks.

Implementation Plan to be Considered

The Brookings City Council will consider approval of the implementation plan during their regular meeting on Tuesday, May 13, 2025. Approval of the plan will signal the council's intention to provide funding to the newly-merged organization in 2026.

Meeting attendees included Wayne Avery, Angela Boersma, Tom Fishback, Andi Fouberg, Paul Gilk, Marcus Heemstra, Shawn Hostler, Jamison Lamp, Jacob Meshke, Daniel Scholl, Michael Schulte, Laci Thompson, Holly Tilton Byrne, and Nick Wendell.

Questions or Comments? Please contact Nick Wendell (wendellnick@gmail.com) or Tom Fishback (Tom.Fishback@bankeasy.com).